Toyota Tundra Towing Capacity

The 2027 Toyota Tundra is rated to tow up to 12,000 lbs, according to Toyota's published specifications. Rated configuration: SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft bed 4x2, 3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6. Maximum payload is 1,850 lbs. Other configurations are rated lower, so confirm your exact rating by VIN or on the door-jamb label.

By CarWhere Research · Updated 2026-11-05 · 13 manufacturer sources

2027 max towing

12,000 lbs

2027 max payload

1,850 lbs

Years covered

2016–2027

Toyota Tundra towing capacity by year

Toyota Tundra maximum towing capacity and payload by model year
Model yearGenerationMax towingMax payloadMax-tow configuration
20273rd gen (2022–present)12,000 lbs [1]1,850 lbs [1]SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft bed 4x2, 3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6SR (358-hp) rated 8,300 lbs; i-FORCE MAX hybrid 10,290–11,130 lbs. Max payload: SR Double Cab 8.1-ft bed 4x2.
20263rd gen (2022–present)12,000 lbs [3]1,850 lbs [3]SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft bed 4x2, 3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6i-FORCE MAX hybrid up to 11,450 lbs (Limited 4x2 CrewMax 5.5-ft). Max payload: SR Double Cab 8.1-ft bed 4x2.
20253rd gen (2022–present)12,000 lbs [4]1,940 lbs [4]Twin-turbo V6 (configuration not specified in release)
20243rd gen (2022–present)12,000 lbs [5]1,940 lbs [5]Twin-turbo V6 (configuration not specified in release)
20233rd gen (2022–present)12,000 lbs [6]1,940 lbs [6]SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft bed 4x2, 3.5L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6Max payload: SR/SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft bed 4x2 (i-FORCE).
20223rd gen (2022–present)12,000 lbs [7]1,940 lbs [7]SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft bed 4x2, 3.5L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6Max payload: SR/SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft bed 4x2 (i-FORCE). GCWR up to 17,700 lbs.
20212nd gen (2007–2021)10,200 lbs [8]1,730 lbs [8]5.7L i-FORCE V8 4x2 Double Cab with Tow Package (SAE J2807)
20202nd gen (2007–2021)10,200 lbs [9]1,730 lbs [9]5.7L i-FORCE V8 4x2 Double Cab with Tow Package (SAE J2807)
20192nd gen (2007–2021)10,200 lbs [10]1,730 lbs [10]5.7L i-FORCE V8 4x2 Double Cab with Tow Package (SAE J2807)GCWR 16,000 lbs with Tow Package.
20182nd gen (2007–2021)10,200 lbs [11]1,730 lbs [11]5.7L i-FORCE V8 with Tow Package (SAE J2807)
20172nd gen (2007–2021)10,500 lbs [12]2,080 lbs [12]5.7L i-FORCE V8, 4x2 Regular Cab
20162nd gen (2007–2021)10,500 lbs [13]— 5.7L i-FORCE V8, 4x2 Regular Cab

— = not published in a manufacturer source we could verify; we leave it blank rather than estimate.

2027 Toyota Tundra towing capacity by configuration

2027 Toyota Tundra towing capacity by trim, engine, drivetrain, cab, axle ratio and tow package
TrimEngineDriveCab / bedAxleMax towingPayloadSrc
1794 Edition i-FORCE MAX3.4L i-FORCE MAX twin-turbo V6 hybrid (437 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3110,9901,510[1]
1794 Edition i-FORCE MAX3.4L i-FORCE MAX twin-turbo V6 hybrid (437 hp)4x4CrewMax / 6.5-ft3.3110,9601,575[1]
Platinum i-FORCE MAX3.4L i-FORCE MAX twin-turbo V6 hybrid (437 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3110,9901,510[1]
Platinum i-FORCE MAX3.4L i-FORCE MAX twin-turbo V6 hybrid (437 hp)4x4CrewMax / 6.5-ft3.3110,9601,575[1]
TRD Pro3.4L i-FORCE MAX twin-turbo V6 hybrid (437 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,1301,580[1]
Platinum3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x2CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,3101,575[1]
Platinum3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,0501,545[1]
Platinum3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4CrewMax / 6.5-ft3.3110,8701,545[1]
1794 Edition3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x2CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,3101,575[1]
1794 Edition3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,0501,545[1]
1794 Edition3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4CrewMax / 6.5-ft3.3110,8701,545[1]
Capstone3.4L i-FORCE MAX twin-turbo V6 hybrid (437 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3110,2901,420[1]
SR53.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x2Double Cab / 6.5-ft3.3112,0001,830[1]
SR53.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x2CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,4001,720[1]
SR53.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x2CrewMax / 6.5-ft3.3111,2701,775[1]
SR53.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4Double Cab / 6.5-ft3.3111,2001,775[1]
SR53.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,1601,710[1]
SR53.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4CrewMax / 6.5-ft3.3111,0101,695[1]
SR53.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4Double Cab / 8.1-ft3.3111,0901,775[1]
Limited3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x2CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,3501,655[1]
Limited3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x2CrewMax / 6.5-ft3.3111,2301,685[1]
Limited3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,1201,640[1]
Limited3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (389 hp)4x4CrewMax / 6.5-ft3.3110,9701,635[1]
Limited i-FORCE MAX3.4L i-FORCE MAX twin-turbo V6 hybrid (437 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.3111,1301,575[1]
Limited i-FORCE MAX3.4L i-FORCE MAX twin-turbo V6 hybrid (437 hp)4x4CrewMax / 6.5-ft3.3111,0601,630[1]
SR3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (358 hp)4x2Double Cab / 6.5-ft3.318,3001,830[1]
SR3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (358 hp)4x4CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.318,3001,710[1]
SR3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (358 hp)4x2Double Cab / 8.1-ft3.318,3001,850[1]
SR3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (358 hp)4x2CrewMax / 5.5-ft3.318,3001,720[1]
SR3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6 (358 hp)4x4Double Cab / 6.5-ft3.318,3001,775[1]

Ratings in lbs, as published by the manufacturer for the 2027 model year.

What lowers your Tundra's real towing limit

  • The 12,000-lb maximum goes to the SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft-bed 4x2 with the 389-hp i-FORCE twin-turbo V6; the base SR’s 358-hp tune is rated 8,300 lbs.
  • For 2027 the i-FORCE MAX hybrid is rated 10,290–11,130 lbs, below the best gas i-FORCE ratings.
  • 4x4 models and longer CrewMax configurations are rated lower than 4x2 Double Cabs because of added curb weight.
  • From 2016 to 2021 the 5.7L V8 with Tow Package set the max (10,500 lbs Regular Cab in 2016–2017; 10,200 lbs from 2018 after Regular Cab was dropped).

The maximum rating assumes a specific, lightly loaded configuration. Three other limits apply on every tow, and the first one you hit is your real limit:

  • Payload. Passengers, cargo, accessories and the trailer's tongue weight all count against payload. The payload figure on your door-jamb Tire and Loading Information placard is the one for your exact vehicle.
  • Tongue weight. A conventional trailer typically puts 10–15% of its weight on the hitch, so a 5,000-lb trailer adds roughly 500–750 lbs to the truck or SUV. The hitch receiver has its own tongue-weight limit, printed on the receiver label.
  • GCWR. The gross combined weight rating caps the loaded vehicle plus the loaded trailer. Every pound of passengers and cargo added to the vehicle comes off the trailer weight you can pull at GCWR.

Always stay within the lowest of these limits for your specific vehicle.

Check your exact Tundra tow rating by VIN

The table above shows the range. Your VIN pins down engine, drivetrain and cab; your window sticker adds the axle ratio and tow package.

Shopping for a Tundra?

Search Toyota Tundra inventory · See what buyers actually paid · Toyota research

More Toyota towing capacity: 4Runner · Highlander · Land Cruiser · RAV4 · Sequoia · Tacoma

FAQ

What is the towing capacity of the Toyota Tundra?

The 2027 Toyota Tundra is rated to tow up to 12,000 lbs when properly equipped (SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft bed 4x2, 3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6). Source: 2027 Toyota Tundra Specifications. Lower-rated configurations tow less — the by-configuration table on this page lists each published rating.

Which Toyota Tundra model year tows the most?

Among the model years on this page with a manufacturer-published rating (2016–2027), the highest maximum is 12,000 lbs, first published for the 2027 model year (SR5 Double Cab 6.5-ft bed 4x2, 3.4L i-FORCE twin-turbo V6).

What is the 2027 Toyota Tundra's payload capacity?

Up to 1,850 lbs in its highest-rated configuration, per the manufacturer. Payload must cover passengers, cargo, and the trailer's tongue weight (typically 10–15% of trailer weight), so it often limits a tow before the trailer rating does.

How do I find my Toyota Tundra's exact towing capacity?

Check the certification label on the driver's door jamb for GVWR and the Tire and Loading Information placard for payload, then match your engine, drivetrain, cab/bed and axle ratio to the manufacturer's table. CarWhere's VIN lookup resolves engine, drivetrain and cab from the VIN; the window sticker lists the axle ratio and tow package.

Sources

  1. Toyota.com, "2027 Toyota Tundra Specifications" https://www.toyota.com/tundra/features/ (accessed 2026-11-05)
  2. Toyota Pressroom, "2027 Toyota Tundra: A Bold New Chapter in Full-Size Pickup Excellence with Advanced Towing Tech and the New Trailhunter Package" https://pressroom.toyota.com/?generate_pdf=122674 (accessed 2026-11-05)
  3. Toyota.com, "2026 Toyota Tundra Specifications (via web.archive.org, Mar 6, 2026)" https://web.archive.org/web/20260306081941/https://www.toyota.com/tundra/features/ (accessed 2026-11-05)
  4. Toyota Pressroom, "2025 Toyota Tundra Adds TRD Rally Package and More (Aug 13, 2024)" https://pressroom.toyota.com/?generate_pdf=94650 (accessed 2026-11-05)
  5. Toyota Pressroom, "Toyota Tundra Adds Enhancements for 2024 Model Year (Aug 22, 2023)" https://pressroom.toyota.com/?generate_pdf=86462 (accessed 2026-11-05)
  6. Toyota Pressroom, "2023 Toyota Tundra Product Information (via web.archive.org)" https://web.archive.org/web/20221129060344/https://toyota-cms-media.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/05/2023_Toyota_Tundra_Product_Information.pdf (accessed 2026-11-05)
  7. Toyota Pressroom, "2022 Toyota Tundra Product Information (via web.archive.org)" https://web.archive.org/web/20240611072534/https://toyota-cms-media.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/2022_Toyota_Tundra_Product_Information.pdf (accessed 2026-11-05)
  8. Toyota Pressroom, "2021 Toyota Tundra Product Information (via web.archive.org)" https://web.archive.org/web/20210514183824/https://toyota-cms-media.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/2021_Toyota_Tundra_Product_Information.pdf (accessed 2026-11-05)
  9. Toyota Pressroom, "2020 Toyota Tundra Product Information (via web.archive.org)" https://web.archive.org/web/20240714030807/https://toyota-cms-media.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/2020_Toyota_Tundra_Product_Information.pdf (accessed 2026-11-05)
  10. Toyota Pressroom, "2019 Toyota Tundra Product Information (via web.archive.org)" https://web.archive.org/web/20210921084931/https://toyota-cms-media.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/2019_Toyota_Tundra_Product_Information.pdf (accessed 2026-11-05)
  11. Toyota Pressroom, "2018 Toyota Tundra Full-Size Pickup Does Everything in A Big Way" https://pressroom.toyota.com/2018-toyota-tundra-full-size-pickup-does-everything-big-way/ (accessed 2026-11-05)
  12. Toyota Pressroom, "As Big as Texas, the Toyota Tundra is Brawny Everywhere, but Brainy and Comfortable Where It Counts (2017)" https://pressroom.toyota.com/2017-toyota-tundra-brawny-brainy-comfortable/ (accessed 2026-11-05)
  13. Toyota Pressroom, "Toyota Tundra: Big, Brawny and Brainy All-American Full-Size Pickup (2016, Sep 9, 2015)" https://pressroom.toyota.com/2016-toyota-tundra-debut/ (accessed 2026-11-05)

Methodology: ratings transcribed from official manufacturer specifications, press materials and towing guides; figures we could not verify in a manufacturer source are left blank. Cite this page: CarWhere Research, "Toyota Tundra Towing Capacity," carwhere.com/towing-capacity/toyota/tundra, updated 2026-11-05.