Hyundai Kona problems and known issues

By CarWhere Research · Updated

The Kona's most serious documented problems are battery short-circuit fire recalls on the 2019–2020 Kona Electric (20V630 and 21V127) and a piston-oil-ring engine recall on 2019–2021 models with the 2.0L Nu engine (21V301). The Kona N has fuel-pump and transmission recalls, and the 2024-and-later Kona has seat belt and steering-knuckle recalls.

CarWhere lists 12 documented Kona issues, including 11 NHTSA safety recalls, each with affected years, powertrains, symptoms, pre-purchase checks and a source. Recall entries come from NHTSA's recall dataset on the DOT open-data portal, which may not list every campaign, so run the specific VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup.

Kona generations at a glance

OS (2018–2023) Kona problems

Kona Electric battery can short-circuit and catch fire; park outside (recall 20V630) (2019–2020 (Kona Electric))

Safety recall
Generation:
OS (2018–2023)
Years:
2019–2020 (Kona Electric)
Powertrain:
Electric

The lithium-ion battery in some 2019–2020 Kona Electrics may short-circuit, which raises the risk of fire. Dealers update the battery management software and inspect the battery, replacing it if needed, free of charge. Owners were told to park outside and away from buildings until the work was done.

Symptoms

  • Battery or EV system warning
  • Unusual heat or smell from under the floor

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Ask whether the battery was inspected or replaced
  • Until the repair is confirmed, follow the recall advice to park outside and away from buildings

NHTSA recall: 20V630 (2020-10-13) · 6,707 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [1]

Kona Electric battery short-circuit risk; battery replacement (recall 21V127) (2019–2020 (Kona Electric))

Safety recall
Generation:
OS (2018–2023)
Years:
2019–2020 (Kona Electric)
Powertrain:
Electric

This follow-up campaign covers 2019–2020 Kona Electrics, plus the 2020 Ioniq Electric, whose lithium-ion batteries may short-circuit and catch fire. As an interim step, owners could install a battery update through the infotainment system or at a dealer. The final remedy is a dealer inspection of the battery system assembly, replaced if needed, free of charge. Owners were told to park outside until the interim step was done.

Symptoms

  • EV system warning light
  • Reduced charge capacity after the interim update

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Ask for the repair order showing whether the battery system assembly was replaced
  • Until the repair is confirmed, follow the recall advice to park outside and away from buildings

NHTSA recall: 21V127 (2021-03-01) · 4,696 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [2]

2.0L Nu engine piston oil rings may fail (recall 21V301) (2019–2021)

Safety recall
Generation:
OS (2018–2023)
Years:
2019–2021
Powertrain:
2.0L Nu MPI

The piston oil rings in the 2.0L Nu MPI engine may not have been heat-treated correctly, which can damage the engine. A damaged engine can stall, and leaking oil can reach hot exhaust parts and start a fire. Dealers inspect the engine and replace it if needed, and Hyundai added Piston Ring Noise Sensing System (PNSS) software, free of charge. The 158,493-vehicle count also covers the Elantra and Veloster.

Symptoms

  • High oil consumption
  • Engine knocking or ticking
  • Blue smoke from the exhaust

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Confirm the PNSS software was installed
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed

NHTSA recall: 21V301 (2021-04-28) · 158,493 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [3]

Kona Electric air bag control software can deactivate air bags (recall 26V728) (2019–2023 (Kona Electric))

Safety recall
Generation:
OS (2018–2023)
Years:
2019–2023 (Kona Electric)
Powertrain:
Electric

A software error in the air bag control unit can wrongly switch off the air bags and seat belt pretensioners, so they would not work in a crash. Dealers update the control unit software, free of charge. Hyundai filed the recall on November 3, 2026, with owner letters expected around January 1, 2027. The 37,901-vehicle count also includes the Veloster N.

Symptoms

  • Air bag warning light may be the only sign

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • VINs become searchable on NHTSA.gov from November 6, 2026
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed

NHTSA recall: 26V728 (2026-11-03) · 37,901 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [4]

Kona Electric electronic brake may reduce braking (recall 20V748) (2019–2021 (Kona Electric))

Safety recall
Generation:
OS (2018–2023)
Years:
2019–2021 (Kona Electric)
Powertrain:
Electric

The integrated electronic brake (IEB) system can read a sensor signal as abnormal and sharply reduce braking performance, which lengthens stopping distances. Dealers update the IEB software, free of charge. The 8,176-vehicle count also includes the Nexo fuel-cell vehicle.

Symptoms

  • Brake warning light
  • Brake pedal feels different or braking is weaker

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed

NHTSA recall: 20V748 (2020-12-01) · 8,176 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [5]

Kona EV power control unit can leak coolant and lose power (recall 22V941) (2021 (Kona Electric))

Safety recall
Generation:
OS (2018–2023)
Years:
2021 (Kona Electric)
Powertrain:
Electric

The Electric Power Control Unit (EPCU) may not have been sealed properly and can leak coolant internally. Coolant on the circuit board can cut drive power. Dealers inspect and replace the EPCU as needed, free of charge.

Symptoms

  • Sudden loss of drive power
  • EV system warning light

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed

NHTSA recall: 22V941 (2022-12-16) · 853 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [6]

Kona N fuel pump may fail (recall 24V528) (Kona N (model years as listed in the recall with 2022–2023 Elantra N))

Safety recall
Generation:
OS (2018–2023)
Years:
Kona N (model years as listed in the recall with 2022–2023 Elantra N)
Powertrain:
Kona N (engine not specified in the recall)

The fuel pump may fail, which can cut drive power. Dealers update the engine control software and inspect and replace the fuel pump assembly as needed, free of charge. The 54,647-vehicle count covers the whole campaign, which also includes the Veloster N, Elantra N and Genesis G70.

Symptoms

  • Hesitation or stumbling under load
  • Stalling or hard starting

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed

NHTSA recall: 24V528 (2024-07-12) · 54,647 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [7]

Kona N transmission fail-safe may not work, cutting drive power (recall 22V746) (2022 (Kona N))

Safety recall
Generation:
OS (2018–2023)
Years:
2022 (Kona N)
Powertrain:
Kona N (engine not specified in the recall)

If the transmission oil pump malfunctions, the limited-mobility 'fail-safe' drive mode may not work, which can lead to a complete loss of drive power. Dealers inspect and replace the transmission as needed and update its software, free of charge. The 56,148-vehicle count also covers Santa Fe, Sonata, Santa Cruz, Elantra N and Veloster N models.

Symptoms

  • Transmission warning light
  • Sudden loss of drive

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed

NHTSA recall: 22V746 (2022-10-06) · 56,148 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [8]

Turn-key Kona models need the free anti-theft software upgrade (campaign 993) (2018–2022)

Moderate
Generation:
OS (2018–2023)
Years:
2018–2022
Powertrain:
All engines with a turn-key ignition and no engine immobilizer

Hyundai offers a free anti-theft software upgrade, service campaign 993, for 2011–2022 Hyundai models built with a traditional turn-key ignition and no engine immobilizer, after a theft method spread on social media. Once installed, locking the doors with the key fob arms the factory alarm and an ignition-kill feature, so the car cannot be started that way. Hyundai says vehicles with push-button start, or built after November 2021, already have an immobilizer and are not affected. A Kona with a turn-key ignition from these years may qualify; the VIN check settles it.

Symptoms

  • Vehicle starts with a mechanical key in a turn-key ignition (no push-button start)
  • No record of campaign 993 in the service history

Check before buying

  • Enter the VIN on Hyundai's campaign 993 site (autoservice.hyundaiusa.com/Campaign993) to see whether the upgrade applies and is done
  • Confirm the alarm and ignition-kill feature arm when you lock the doors with the fob
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer to install the upgrade if it is still open; it is free

Sources: [12][13][14]

SX2 (2024–present) Kona problems

Rear center seat belt buckle may fail; don’t use that seat (recall 26V452) (2024–2026 Kona, 2024–2025 Kona Electric)

Safety recall
Generation:
SX2 (2024–present)
Years:
2024–2026 Kona, 2024–2025 Kona Electric
Powertrain:
All

The rear center seat belt buckle may not hold an occupant properly in a crash. Hyundai advises not using the rear center seat until dealers replace the buckle assembly, free of charge.

Symptoms

  • No warning signs before a crash

Check before buying

  • Avoid seating anyone in the rear center position until the repair is done
  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed

NHTSA recall: 26V452 (2026-07-14) · 47,787 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [9]

2026 Kona steering knuckles may crack (recall 26V069) (2026)

Safety recall
Generation:
SX2 (2024–present)
Years:
2026
Powertrain:
All

Because of a manufacturing error, the front steering knuckles may crack and break, which can cause a loss of steering control. Dealers inspect and replace the knuckles as needed, free of charge.

Symptoms

  • Clunking from the front suspension
  • Steering that wanders or feels loose

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed

NHTSA recall: 26V069 (2026-02-06) · 4,555 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [10]

2024 Kona battery cables can short in a crash (recall 23V901) (2024)

Safety recall
Generation:
SX2 (2024–present)
Years:
2024
Powertrain:
Not specified in the recall

The 12-volt battery cables can rub against the engine control module bracket and short-circuit during a crash, raising the risk of an engine-compartment fire. Dealers add protective sheathing over the wiring, free of charge.

Symptoms

  • No warning signs in normal driving

Check before buying

  • Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
  • Ask a Hyundai dealer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed

NHTSA recall: 23V901 (2023-12-26) · 10,984 vehicles in the campaign

Sources: [11]

Related Kona research

This page explains specific mechanical issues and recalls. Which model years drew the most owner complaints relative to the rest of the model’s history is answered in the years-to-avoid research where CarWhere publishes it.

Confirm how a Kona was built before you buy.

Engine, transmission and packages decide which of these issues apply. The CarWhere Hyundai build sheet reconstructs factory colors, options and packages from licensed VIN-level build data — availability is checked free, and it is $9.99 only when detailed build data is found for that VIN.

Hyundai build sheet by VIN

Frequently asked questions

What year Kona has engine problems?

2019–2021 Konas with the 2.0L Nu MPI engine were recalled because the piston oil rings may not have been heat-treated correctly, which can damage the engine (21V301). Dealers inspect and replace engines as needed and installed Piston Ring Noise Sensing System software.

Is the Kona Electric safe after the battery recall?

2019–2020 Kona Electrics were recalled twice for battery short-circuit fire risk (20V630 and 21V127). The final remedy is a dealer inspection of the battery system assembly, with replacement if needed. A used Kona Electric's repair order shows whether its battery was replaced.

Is the Hyundai Kona reliable?

The Kona's documented problems are recalls concentrated in the 2019–2021 Kona Electric (battery, brakes, power control unit) and 2.0L Nu engines. The 2024-and-later Kona's recalls are mostly seat belt, steering and wiring fixes. All are free at Hyundai dealers.

Does the Kona N have recalls?

Yes. The Kona N is included in a fuel pump recall that can cause a loss of drive power (24V528) and a 2022 transmission fail-safe recall (22V746). Both are repaired free by Hyundai dealers.

How do I check a used Kona for open recalls?

Run the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls and confirm every campaign is remedied. Turn-key Konas built before November 2021 may also need Hyundai's free anti-theft upgrade (campaign 993), checkable at autoservice.hyundaiusa.com/Campaign993.

Sources

Issue descriptions are CarWhere’s own summaries of the sources below. Repair costs are shown only where a source states them and vary by shop and region.

  1. Recall 20V630: Lithium-Ion Battery May Short Circuit — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  2. Recall 21V127: Lithium-Ion Battery May Short Circuit — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  3. Recall 21V301: Improperly Heat-Treated Piston Oil Rings — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  4. Recall 26V728: Air Bags & Seat Belt Pretensioners May Not Deploy in a Crash — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  5. Recall 20V748: Integrated Electronic Brake System Malfunction — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  6. Recall 22V941: Coolant Leak in EPCU May Cause Loss of Drive Power — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  7. Recall 24V528: Loss of Drive Power from Fuel Pump Failure — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  8. Recall 22V746: Loss of Drive Power — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  9. Recall 26V452: Seat Belt Buckle May Fail — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  10. Recall 26V069: Loss of Steering Control from Cracked Steering Knuckle Assembly — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  11. Recall 23V901: Engine Compartment Fire from Short Circuit — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  12. Anti-Theft Software Upgrade — Hyundai Motor America (MyHyundai)
  13. Hyundai Anti-Theft Software Upgrade Product Improvement (Campaign 993) — Hyundai Motor America
  14. Campaign 993: anti-theft class action settlement and software upgrade notice — Hyundai Motor America

More Hyundai tools

Independent reference compiled by CarWhere — not affiliated with or endorsed by Hyundai Motor America, Hyundai Motor Company or Hyundai Motor Group. Hyundai and the model names are trademarks of their owners.