Subaru Forester generations, specs and prices

By CarWhere Research · Updated

The Subaru Forester has had six generations since it joined the US lineup for the 1998 model year. The sixth generation launched for 2025; the 2027 Forester costs $29,995 to $41,545 before destination, with a 180-hp 2.5L or a 194-hp hybrid, and every version has all-wheel drive and at least 8.7 inches of ground clearance.

Type
Compact SUV, standard all-wheel drive
Price (MSRP)
$29,995–$41,545 (2027 MY) · MSRP excl. $1,525 destination and delivery. Lowest = Forester (base), highest = Touring Hybrid.[1]
Powertrains
Forester 2.5 (base, Premium, Limited), Forester Wilderness, Forester Hybrid · 180–194 hp
Towing
up to 3,500 lb (Forester Wilderness and Wilderness Hybrid, properly equipped. Subaru quoted 1,500 lb for the fifth-generation non-Wilderness Forester.)[1]
Current generation
First generation, 1998–2002

2027 Subaru Forester price and trims

The sixth-generation Forester arrived for 2025. A Forester Hybrid joined later, and for 2027 Subaru dropped the gas Sport, Sport Onyx Edition and Touring, kept most prices the same as 2026, and added the Wilderness Hybrid, the first Subaru Wilderness model with a hybrid powertrain.[23][24][25]

Subaru Forester trims with 2027 model-year base MSRP (USD) and powertrains
TrimMSRP (2027)Powertrain
Forester (base)$29,995excl. $1,525 destination (2027 MY); same as 20262.5L SUBARU BOXER flat-4 (180 hp, 178 lb-ft)[23][24]
Premium$31,995excl. $1,525 destination (2027 MY); same as 20262.5L SUBARU BOXER flat-4 (180 hp, 178 lb-ft)[23][24]
Premium Hybrid$34,730excl. $1,525 destination (2027 MY); same as 20262.5L SUBARU BOXER hybrid (series-parallel, 194 hp combined)[23][24]
Limited$37,595excl. $1,525 destination (2027 MY)2.5L SUBARU BOXER flat-4 (180 hp, 178 lb-ft)[23]
Sport Hybrid$37,930excl. $1,525 destination (2027 MY); same as 20262.5L SUBARU BOXER hybrid (series-parallel, 194 hp combined)[23][24]
Limited Hybrid$38,995excl. $1,525 destination (2027 MY); same as 20262.5L SUBARU BOXER hybrid (series-parallel, 194 hp combined)[23][24]
Wilderness$39,495excl. $1,525 destination (2027 MY); prior optional package now standard2.5L SUBARU BOXER flat-4 (180 hp, 178 lb-ft)[23][24]
Wilderness Hybrid$40,495excl. $1,525 destination (2027 MY); new for 20272.5L SUBARU BOXER hybrid (series-parallel, 194 hp combined)[23][25]
Touring Hybrid$41,545excl. $1,525 destination (2027 MY); same as 20262.5L SUBARU BOXER hybrid (series-parallel, 194 hp combined)[23][24]

Every Forester trim compared, with standard equipment and previous-generation prices →

Subaru Forester engines, horsepower and mpg

Hybrid output is Subaru's combined system rating; Subaru does not quote a combined torque figure. EPA had not posted 2027 Forester ratings when this page was compiled, so the 2026 figures are shown. EPA rates the 2026 Sport/Touring gas models at 25/32/28 mpg; the hybrid figure excludes the new 2027 Wilderness Hybrid.

Subaru Forester powertrains with Subaru-rated output and EPA fuel economy (city/highway/combined)
VersionEngineHorsepowerTorque (lb-ft)TransmissionDriveEPA mpg (city/hwy/comb)
Forester 2.5 (base, Premium, Limited)Base, Premium, Limited2.5L SUBARU BOXER flat-4[1][2][3][4]180178Lineartronic CVTSymmetrical AWD26/33/292026 MY[3]
Forester WildernessWilderness2.5L SUBARU BOXER flat-4[5][1][6]180178Lineartronic CVTSymmetrical AWD24/28/262026 MY[6]
Forester HybridPremium Hybrid, Sport Hybrid, Limited Hybrid, Wilderness Hybrid, Touring Hybrid2.5L SUBARU BOXER series-parallel hybrid[1][2][7][8]194—Lineartronic CVTSymmetrical AWD35/34/352026 MY[8]

Output is as rated by Subaru; fuel economy is the EPA estimate. "—" means no official figure was found.

Forester gas vs Hybrid vs Wilderness

Prices are 2027 MSRPs; EPA ratings are the latest posted (2026).[1][5][2][3][8][6]

Forester gas vs Hybrid vs Wilderness
Gas (base)HybridWilderness (gas)
Output180 hp / 178 lb-ft194 hp combined180 hp / 178 lb-ft
EPA mpg (city/hwy/comb)26/33/2935/34/3524/28/26
Ground clearance8.7 in8.7 in9.3 in
TowingNot stated for 2027Not stated for 20273,500 lb
MSRP from$29,995$34,730$39,495
  • The hybrid adds 6 mpg combined over the base gas Forester.
  • The Wilderness is the choice for towing and trails, at a 3 mpg combined cost.

Forester Hybrid

The Forester Hybrid pairs an Atkinson/Miller-cycle 2.5L boxer with electric motors and a lithium-ion battery for 194 combined horsepower, against 180 hp for the gas Forester. Subaru says it returns up to 40% better fuel economy than the gas model.

EPA rates the 2026 Forester Hybrid at 35 mpg combined versus 29 for the base gas Forester, and Subaru quotes an EPA-rated range of 581 miles per tank. The hybrid starts at $34,730 for 2027, $4,735 more than the base gas Forester.[7][2][1][8][3]

Forester Wilderness and Wilderness Hybrid

The Wilderness trim arrived with the 2022 refresh at 9.2 inches of ground clearance. The sixth-generation version (2026–) rides on longer springs and shocks for 9.3 inches, adds a transmission cooler and is rated to tow 3,500 pounds.

For 2027 Subaru added a Wilderness Hybrid, its first hybrid Wilderness model, with the same 9.3-inch clearance, all-terrain tires and dual-mode X-MODE, priced at $40,495 against $39,495 for the gas Wilderness.

  • 9.3 in ground clearance vs 8.7 in on other trims
  • 3,500-lb towing (properly equipped)
  • Yokohama Geolandar all-terrain tires
  • Full-size spare
  • [18][5][21][1]

X-MODE and EyeSight on the Forester

X-MODE was new on the 2014 Forester. It coordinates engine, transmission, all-wheel-drive clutch and brakes for low-traction surfaces and engages Hill Descent Control. Every 2027 Forester has all-wheel drive, at least 8.7 inches of ground clearance and EyeSight driver assist.[10][1]

Subaru Forester generations by year

Every US Subaru Forester generation with model years and engines, newest first
GenerationUS model yearsEnginesNotes
First generation1998–20022.5L BOXER flat-4Introduced for model year 1998 on the Impreza chassis with the Legacy/Outback 2.5L engine, standard roof rails and 7.5 inches of ground clearance. Original trims were standard, L and S; a revised 2001 model arrived in summer 2000.[9][10][11][12]
Second generation2003–20082.5L flat-4; 2.5L turbo flat-4 (XT) from 2004Subaru unveiled the fully redesigned Forester at the 2002 Chicago Auto Show and added the turbocharged Forester 2.5 XT at the 2003 show. A styling refresh arrived for 2006.[11][13][14]
Third generation2009–20132.5L flat-4; 2.5L turbo flat-4Revealed as the all-new third-generation 2009 Forester at the 2008 Detroit auto show. The 170-hp 2.5L carried into the 2014 Forester debuted in this generation.[11][10]
Fourth generation2014–20182.5L flat-4 (170 hp, 174 lb-ft); 2.0L direct-injection turbo flat-4 (250 hp, 258 lb-ft, 2.0XT)Debuted at the 2012 Los Angeles show with a new 250-hp 2.0XT; higher-line CVT models gained the new X-MODE and Hill Descent Control.[10][15]
Fifth generation2019–20242.5L direct-injection flat-4 (182 hp, 176 lb-ft)Moved to the Subaru Global Platform with EyeSight standard, and the only engine was the 182-hp 2.5L. The 2022 refresh added the Forester Wilderness with 9.2 inches of ground clearance. Subaru sold its two-millionth US Forester in 2019.[16][17][18][12]
Sixth generation2025–present2.5L flat-4 (180 hp, 178 lb-ft); 2.5L series-parallel hybrid (194 hp combined)New styling, a quieter interior and the latest EyeSight. A Forester Hybrid joined for 2025 and a Wilderness Hybrid for 2027. US production of the Forester began in Indiana in October 2025.[19][20][7][21][22]

Subaru Forester problems and recalls

The most significant documented Forester problems are recalls for corrosion and safety parts: front control arms on 2003–2008 models in salt states, Takata passenger air bags and brake lines on 2009–2013 models, and a brake light switch on 2014–2016 models. The 2011–2014 Forester 2.5L was also covered by a court-approved oil-consumption settlement.

All 15 documented Forester issues and 12 recalls, with symptoms and pre-purchase checks →

MSRP is the starting point, not the transaction price. These CarWhere pages show buyer-reported prices and dealer invoice estimates for the Subaru Forester.

More Forester research

See how a Forester was built at the factory.

Trim names and packages on a used listing are not always right. The CarWhere Subaru build sheet reconstructs factory colors, options and packages from licensed VIN-level build data — availability is checked free, and it is $9.99 only when detailed build data is found for that VIN.

Subaru build sheet by VIN

Frequently asked questions

How many Subaru Forester generations are there?

Six: 1998–2002, 2003–2008, 2009–2013, 2014–2018, 2019–2024 and the current sixth generation from 2025.

When did the Subaru Forester come out?

Subaru introduced the Forester for the 1998 model year; it went on sale in 1997.

How much is a 2027 Subaru Forester?

From $29,995 for the base gas model to $41,545 for the Touring Hybrid, before $1,525 destination and delivery.

Which Foresters have a turbo?

The 2.5L turbo XT from 2004 through the third generation, and the 250-hp 2.0XT from 2014 to 2018. The fifth and sixth generations have no turbo.

What mpg does the Forester Hybrid get?

EPA rates the 2026 Forester Hybrid at 35 city, 34 highway and 35 combined mpg.

Sources

Prices and output are as published by Subaru for the model year shown; fuel economy is from the EPA. Equipment changes between model years, so confirm a specific vehicle against its original paperwork or build sheet.

  1. Subaru Focuses on Affordability with 2027 Subaru Forester Pricing, Adds New 2027 Forester Wilderness Hybrid (September 17, 2026) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  2. Subaru Focuses on Consumer Affordability and Excellent Value with Updated Pricing on 2026 Subaru Forester Gas and Hybrid Models, Including New Forester Sport Onyx Edition (February 10, 2026) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  3. EPA fuel economy: 2026 Subaru Forester AWD — fueleconomy.gov (U.S. DOE / EPA)
  4. EPA fuel economy: 2026 Subaru Forester Sport/Touring AWD — fueleconomy.gov (U.S. DOE / EPA)
  5. Subaru Debuts New 2026 Forester Wilderness SUV with Increased Capability, Trail-Ready Performance and Refinements (February 6, 2025) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  6. EPA fuel economy: 2026 Subaru Forester Wilderness AWD — fueleconomy.gov (U.S. DOE / EPA)
  7. Subaru Introduces All-New 2025 Forester Hybrid with Next-Generation Hybrid Powertrain (February 6, 2025) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  8. EPA fuel economy: 2026 Subaru Forester Hybrid AWD — fueleconomy.gov (U.S. DOE / EPA)
  9. 50 Years of Subaru Products (photo gallery captions) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  10. Subaru Introduces All-New 2014 Forester Crossover SUV at Los Angeles Auto Show (Full Version) (November 27, 2012) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  11. Subaru of America, Inc. Corporate Timeline — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  12. Subaru Sells Two-Millionth Forester in the U.S. (July 30, 2019) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  13. EPA fuel economy: 2004 Subaru Forester AWD (2.5L turbo) — fueleconomy.gov (U.S. DOE / EPA)
  14. Subaru Forester — Wikipedia (secondary reference)
  15. Subaru Reveals All-New 2014 Forester Crossover SUV; New Model to Make North American Debut at Los Angeles Auto Show (October 30, 2012) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  16. All-New 2019 Subaru Forester Debuts at New York International Auto Show (March 28, 2018) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  17. Subaru of America Announces Pricing on All-New 2019 Forester Models (August 16, 2018) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  18. Subaru Announces Pricing on Refreshed 2022 Forester SUV (September 2, 2021) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  19. Subaru Debuts All-New 2025 Forester SUV with New Styling, Safety and In-Vehicle Technology (November 16, 2023) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  20. Subaru Announces Pricing on All-New 2025 Subaru Forester SUV (April 4, 2024) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  21. Subaru Debuts New 2027 Subaru Forester Wilderness Hybrid SUV with Real Off-Road Capability and Up to 25% Better Fuel Economy (April 1, 2026) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  22. Subaru of Indiana Automotive Produces Final Legacy (September 18, 2025) — Subaru of America (media.subaru.com)
  23. Subaru Focuses on Affordability with 2027 Subaru Forester Pricing, Adds New 2027 Forester Wilderness Hybrid (Sep 17, 2026) — Subaru U.S. Media Center (media.subaru.com)
  24. Subaru Focuses on Consumer Affordability and Excellent Value with Updated Pricing on 2026 Subaru Forester Gas and Hybrid Models, Including New Forester Sport Onyx Edition (Feb 10, 2026) — Subaru U.S. Media Center (media.subaru.com)
  25. Subaru Debuts New 2027 Subaru Forester Wilderness Hybrid SUV with Real Off-road Capability and Up to 25% Better Fuel Economy (Apr 1, 2026) — Subaru U.S. Media Center (media.subaru.com)
  26. Recall 11V464: Suspension — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  27. Recall 14V311: Service Brakes, Hydraulic — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  28. Recall 14V830: Service Brakes, Hydraulic — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  29. Recall 18V012: Air Bags — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  30. Recall 16V358: Air Bags — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  31. Recall 19V007: Air Bags — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  32. Recall 19V008: Air Bags — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  33. Recall 20V001: Air Bags — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  34. Recall 12V099: Seat Belts — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  35. Recall 16V162: Engine And Engine Cooling — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  36. Recall 19V149: Exterior Lighting — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  37. Recall 19V701: Air Bags — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)
  38. Recall 19V856: Engine And Engine Cooling — NHTSA (via data.transportation.gov recall dataset)

More Subaru tools

Independent reference compiled by CarWhere — not affiliated with or endorsed by Subaru of America, Inc. or Subaru Corporation. Subaru and the model names are trademarks of their owners.