The new Defender's documented problems are safety recalls: 18 vehicle campaigns in NHTSA's recall data name it since its 2020 US return. The largest cover a corroding driver air bag connector on 2020–2026 models (26V389), the mild-hybrid DC-DC converter (26V248) and seat belt locking retractors (21V668). All are fixed free by Land Rover retailers.
CarWhere lists 9 documented Defender issues, including 9 NHTSA safety recalls, each with affected years, powertrains, symptoms, pre-purchase checks and a source. Recall entries come from NHTSA's recall dataset on the DOT open-data portal, which may not list every campaign, so run the specific VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup.
New Defender (2020–present) Defender problems
Driver air bag clockspring connector may corrode (recall 26V389) (2020–2026)
Safety recall- Generation:
- New Defender (2020–present)
- Years:
- 2020–2026
- Powertrain:
- Not specified in the recall
The connector at the driver's air bag clockspring can corrode, and a corroded connector can stop the air bag from deploying as intended in a crash. Dealers apply a protective lubricant gel to the connector terminals, free of charge. The 250,857-vehicle count is for the whole campaign, which also covers other models.
Symptoms
- No warning signs; the defect shows only when the air bag should deploy
Check before buying
- Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
- Ask a Land Rover retailer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed
NHTSA recall: 26V389 (2026-06-12) · 250,857 vehicles in the campaign
Sources: [1]
DC-DC converter overload can cut 12-volt charging and drive power (recall 26V248) (2020–2024)
Safety recall- Generation:
- New Defender (2020–present)
- Years:
- 2020–2024
- Powertrain:
- Mild-hybrid (MHEV) models
On mild-hybrid (MHEV) models, the DC-DC converter can overload when electrical demand is high. If it fails, the 12-volt system stops charging, which can lead to a complete loss of drive power and exterior lighting. Dealers update the central software, free of charge; owners first received interim letters while the final remedy was prepared. The 170,169-vehicle count is for the whole campaign, which also covers other models.
Symptoms
- Loss of 12-volt system charging
- Loss of drive power or exterior lights while driving
Check before buying
- Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
- If only an interim letter was sent, ask the retailer whether the final software remedy has been released and applied
- Ask a Land Rover retailer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed
NHTSA recall: 26V248 (2026-04-17) · 170,169 vehicles in the campaign
Sources: [2]
DC-DC converter can stop working at start-up (recall 26V599) (2020–2024)
Safety recall- Generation:
- New Defender (2020–present)
- Years:
- 2020–2024
- Powertrain:
- Not specified in the recall
This campaign expands recall 26V248. Besides the high-demand overload, a software error can stop the DC-DC converter from working at start-up. A failed converter ends 12-volt charging and can lead to a complete loss of drive power and exterior lighting. Dealers update the vehicle software, free of charge. The 23,677-vehicle count is for the whole campaign, which also covers other models.
Symptoms
- Loss of 12-volt system charging, including at start-up
- Loss of drive power or exterior lights
Check before buying
- Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
- Confirm both 26V248 and 26V599 show as remedied on a mild-hybrid model
- Ask a Land Rover retailer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed
NHTSA recall: 26V599 (2026-09-17) · 23,677 vehicles in the campaign
Sources: [3][2]
Seat belt automatic locking retractors may deactivate early (recall 21V668) (2020–2022 (as listed in the recall))
Safety recall- Generation:
- New Defender (2020–present)
- Years:
- 2020–2022 (as listed in the recall)
- Powertrain:
- Not specified in the recall
The seat belts' automatic locking retractors can switch off too early, so a child seat secured with the seat belt may not stay tight. Dealers inspect and replace the seat belt assemblies as needed, free of charge. The 32,687-vehicle count is for the whole campaign, which also covers other models.
Symptoms
- A child seat installed with the seat belt that loosens or will not stay locked
Check before buying
- Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
- Ask a Land Rover retailer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed
NHTSA recall: 21V668 (2021-08-26) · 32,687 vehicles in the campaign
Sources: [4]
Touchscreen may go blank and hide the rearview camera (recall 25V016) (2023–2024)
Safety recall- Generation:
- New Defender (2020–present)
- Years:
- 2023–2024
- Powertrain:
- Not specified in the recall
The center touchscreen can go blank at start-up, so the rearview camera image does not show, which fails the federal rear-visibility standard (FMVSS 111). Dealers update the touchscreen software, free of charge. The 28,370-vehicle count is for the whole campaign, which also covers other models.
Symptoms
- Blank center screen after starting the vehicle
- No camera image when reversing
Check before buying
- Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
- Ask a Land Rover retailer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed
NHTSA recall: 25V016 (2025-01-16) · 28,370 vehicles in the campaign
Sources: [5]
Engine cam carrier oil channel may be blocked (recall 23V044) (2020–2023)
Safety recall- Generation:
- New Defender (2020–present)
- Years:
- 2020–2023
- Powertrain:
- Not specified in the recall
A blocked oil channel in the engine cam carrier can lead to an oil leak, a fire risk near an ignition source. Dealers inspect and replace the cam carrier and related parts as needed, free of charge. The 6,724-vehicle count is for the whole campaign, which also covers other models.
Check before buying
- Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
- Ask a Land Rover retailer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed
NHTSA recall: 23V044 (2023-02-02) · 6,724 vehicles in the campaign
Sources: [6]
Front seat belt pretensioners may be damaged (recall 22V523) (2022–2023)
Safety recall- Generation:
- New Defender (2020–present)
- Years:
- 2022–2023
- Powertrain:
- Not specified in the recall
The driver and front passenger seat belt pretensioners may be damaged, so the belts may not restrain occupants properly in a crash. Dealers inspect and replace the front seat belt assemblies as needed, free of charge. The 4,927-vehicle count is for the whole campaign, which also covers other models.
Symptoms
- No warning signs before a crash
Check before buying
- Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
- Ask a Land Rover retailer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed
NHTSA recall: 22V523 (2022-07-21) · 4,927 vehicles in the campaign
Sources: [7]
Owner's manual wrongly lists third-row LATCH anchors (recall 21V584) (2020–2021)
Safety recall- Generation:
- New Defender (2020–present)
- Years:
- 2020–2021
- Powertrain:
- Not specified in the recall
The owner's manual said the third row had LATCH child-seat anchors with top tethers, which it does not, so the vehicle failed the federal child-restraint anchorage standard (FMVSS 225). Land Rover mailed owners corrected owner's-manual information, free of charge.
Symptoms
- None; this is a documentation error
Check before buying
- Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
- Check that the corrected owner's-manual insert is with the vehicle before fitting a child seat in the third row
- Ask a Land Rover retailer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed
NHTSA recall: 21V584 (2021-07-29) · 7,027 vehicles in the campaign
Sources: [8]
Defender 130 third-row seatback latch may not latch (recall 23V137) (2023 (Defender 130))
Safety recall- Generation:
- New Defender (2020–present)
- Years:
- 2023 (Defender 130)
- Powertrain:
- Not specified in the recall
On Defender 130 models with third-row seats, the seatback latch may not latch properly, weakening a child seat attached to the top tether. Dealers inspect and replace the third-row seat frame and parts as needed, free of charge.
Symptoms
- Third-row seatback that does not lock firmly upright
Check before buying
- Run the 17-digit VIN through NHTSA's recall lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) and confirm the campaign shows as remedied
- Ask a Land Rover retailer for the repair order showing the recall work was completed
NHTSA recall: 23V137 (2023-03-02) · 812 vehicles in the campaign
Sources: [9]