Toyota history · 1951–today
Toyota Land Cruiser history: from the 1951 BJ to the 2024 hybrid
By CarWhere Research · Updated
The Land Cruiser began as the Toyota BJ, a Jeep-type four-wheel-drive prototype finished in January 1951 and renamed Land Cruiser in 1954. It reached the US in 1958, became an icon as the FJ40, and grew into a V8 luxury SUV with the 100 and 200 Series. After a three-year US break, it returned for 2024 as a hybrid.
Toyota Land Cruiser history
In August 1950 the US armed forces and Japan's new National Police Reserve asked Toyota for a Jeep-type quarter-ton four-wheel-drive truck. Using wartime experience and Model SB truck parts, Toyota finished the BJ prototype in January 1951, after five months. Its 3.4-liter inline-six made 75 hp. In July 1951 a test driver took one to the sixth station on Mount Fuji, higher than any motor vehicle had gone.
Because "Jeep" was a registered trademark, the BJ was renamed the Land Cruiser in June 1954. The redesigned 20 Series of 1955 was aimed at civilian buyers and became the backbone of Toyota's exports, from Latin America to the Middle East. When Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A. began selling vehicles in 1958, its first-year US sales included exactly one Land Cruiser.
The 40 Series (FJ40) of 1960 was Toyota's best-selling vehicle in the US through 1965. Later Land Cruisers grew into family wagons (55 and 60 Series), then luxury SUVs (80, 100 and 200 Series). Toyota sold its 10 millionth Land Cruiser worldwide in 2019, and the nameplate returned to the US for 2024 after a three-year break.[1],[2],[3],[5],[6]
Years and production numbers
| Series | Introduced | US availability | Engine (as Toyota describes it) | Key change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toyota BJ | 1951 | Not sold in the US | 3.4L inline-six, 75 hp | Jeep-type prototype; renamed Land Cruiser in June 1954 |
| 20 Series | 1955 | From 1958 | 3.9L inline-six | Civilian redesign; pickup, wagon and fire-truck versions |
| 40 Series (FJ40) | 1960 | 1960–1983 | Inline-six, 125 hp and 200 lb-ft; 4.2L from 1975 | First Land Cruiser with a two-speed transfer case |
| 55 Series wagon | 1967 | Yes | Improved 3.9L inline-six; 4.2L from 1975 | 16-inch-longer wheelbase for family and ranch use |
| 60 Series (FJ60) | 1980 | Yes | 4.2L inline-six; 155-hp 4.0L (3F) for 1988 | More comfort; replaced the 55 Series |
| 70 Series | Not stated (succeeded the FJ40) | Not sold in the US | Not stated | Replaced the FJ40 in many markets |
| 80 Series | Spring 1990 (1991 model year) | Yes | 4.5L DOHC inline-six, 212 hp and 275 lb-ft from 1993 | Coil springs; full-time 4WD; front and rear locking differentials |
| 100 Series | 1998 | Yes | 4.7L V8, 230 hp (275 hp from 2006) | First independent front suspension and first V8 |
| 200 Series | 2008 | Through the 2021 model year | 5.7L V8, 381 hp and 401 lb-ft | Premium luxury flagship; KDSS and CRAWL Control |
| Current generation | 2024 model year | From spring 2024 | i-FORCE MAX 2.4L turbo hybrid, 326 hp and 465 lb-ft | TNGA-F platform; hybrid only; smaller and narrower than the 200 Series |
Generations and key variants
| Grade | Highlights | Starting MSRP |
|---|---|---|
| Land Cruiser 1958 | Round LED headlights and "TOYOTA" heritage grille; cloth seats; 8-inch touchscreen | $55,950 (excludes $1,395 DPH) |
| Land Cruiser | Rectangular LED headlights, heated and ventilated SofTex seats, 12.3-inch display | Not listed here |
| First Edition | Round LED headlights, Premium Package features, roof rack and rock rails; limited to 5,000 for North America | Not listed here |
Engine and drivetrain facts
- The original BJ used a 3.4-liter inline-six making 75 hp with strong low-speed torque; the 1955 20 Series moved to a 3.9-liter six.
- The FJ40's inline-six made 125 hp and 200 lb-ft. A 4.2-liter six and a four-speed manual replaced the earlier engine and three-speed in 1975.
- For 1988 the 60 Series got a 155-hp 4.0-liter 3F engine. The 80 Series gained a 212-hp, 24-valve DOHC 4.5-liter six for 1993.
- The 100 Series (1998) was the first Land Cruiser without an inline-six: a 4.7-liter V8 with 230 hp, rising to 275 hp for 2006.
- The 200 Series used a 381-hp, 401 lb-ft 5.7-liter V8 with an eight-speed automatic, a Torsen center differential and a towing rating of up to 8,100 pounds.
- The 2024 Land Cruiser pairs a turbocharged 2.4-liter four with a 48-hp electric motor in an eight-speed automatic and a 1.87-kWh nickel-metal hydride battery, for 326 hp and 465 lb-ft.
What changed over the years
- 1951BJ prototype completed; climbs to Mount Fuji's sixth station.
- 1954Renamed Land Cruiser.
- 195520 Series for civilian buyers; exports grow quickly.
- 1958First US sale: one Land Cruiser in Toyota's first US year.
- 1960–1965FJ40 arrives and is Toyota's best-selling US vehicle through 1965.
- 196755 Series wagon.
- 198060 Series; one millionth Land Cruiser built.
- 1983–1984US FJ40 sales end in 1983; production ends in 1984.
- 1990–199180 Series with full-time 4WD and, by 1991, luxury features.
- 1998100 Series with a V8 and independent front suspension.
- 2008200 Series premium flagship.
- 201910 millionth Land Cruiser sold worldwide.
- 2024Returns to the US after a three-year break as a hybrid on TNGA-F.
What to check before you buy one
- Confirm the series from the VIN and title. The 2024 and later Land Cruiser is a different, smaller hybrid SUV than the 2008–2021 200 Series V8.
- For a 2024 or later model, check whether it is a 1958, Land Cruiser or First Edition grade. The First Edition was limited to 5,000 units for North America, and round headlights alone do not make a truck a First Edition.
- On pre-1981 trucks such as FJ40s and 55 Series wagons, there is no 17-character VIN; verify the frame and engine numbers against the title.
- On 200 Series trucks, ask how the Land Cruiser has been used for towing, since many were bought to pull trailers up to their 8,100-pound rating.
- Run the VIN for open recalls before buying any Land Cruiser.
Model-specific problems by generation are tracked on our Toyota Land Cruiser known issues page. Engine guides: i-FORCE MAX hybrid, 5.7L i-FORCE V8 (3UR-FE).
How to verify a Toyota Land Cruiser's factory options
Land Cruiser grades and editions, such as the Heritage Edition and the 2024 First Edition, carried specific paint and equipment. CarWhere checks the 17-character VIN for licensed factory build data and, when it exists, lists the equipment the vehicle was built with. It does not promise a complete option list for every VIN.
Standardized 17-character VINs began with the 1981 model year, so BJ, 20 Series, FJ40, 55 Series and the earliest 60 Series Land Cruisers predate them; every later US Land Cruiser carries one.[8]
For pre-1981 examples, the data plate and engine stampings carry the original factory codes; a VIN-based build lookup does not apply to them.
Toyota build sheet by VIN (1981 and later)
CarWhere checks a specific VIN for licensed factory build data and, when it exists, lists the equipment the vehicle was built with — trim, drivetrain, paint, interior and option packages — in plain English. Coverage varies by VIN and model year and is strongest for recent vehicles.
Free availability check first · $9.99 one-time only if detailed build data exists for the VIN · no subscription
Frequently asked questions
When did the Land Cruiser come to the US?
In 1958. Toyota sold exactly one Land Cruiser in the US that year, alongside 287 Toyopet Crown sedans. The Land Cruiser then remained part of Toyota's US lineup until the 200 Series ended after the 2021 model year.
Why did the original Land Cruiser change its name?
It was first called the Toyota BJ, and people nicknamed it the Toyota Jeep. Because "Jeep" was a registered trademark of Willys-Overland, Toyota formally renamed it the Land Cruiser in June 1954.
What years was the FJ40 sold in the US?
From 1960 through 1983. Toyota stopped building the FJ40 the following year, and the 70 Series replaced it in many markets, but not in the US.
Was the Land Cruiser discontinued in the US?
Only for a while. The 200 Series was the last generation sold in the US before a three-year break. The Land Cruiser returned for the 2024 model year as a hybrid-only SUV starting at $55,950 before destination.
What engine does the 2024 Land Cruiser have?
Every 2024 Land Cruiser uses the i-FORCE MAX hybrid: a turbocharged 2.4-liter four-cylinder plus an electric motor in an eight-speed automatic, rated at 326 hp and 465 lb-ft.
How many Land Cruisers has Toyota sold?
More than 10 million worldwide by 2019, counting all versions since the 1951 BJ. Toyota says the Land Cruiser is sold in about 170 countries and regions, with Australia its largest market.
Related histories
- Toyota Tacoma and Toyota pickup trucks (Stout, Hi-Lux, T100, Tundra) history
- Toyota's founding: Sakichi and Kiichiro Toyoda history
- Toyota Racing Development (TRD) and Toyota Gazoo Racing history
- Toyota Prius and Toyota hybrids history
- Toyota manufacturing in the US history
More research
Sources
Production figures, dates and ratings come from Toyota Motor Corporation and Toyota Motor North America press and heritage materials, official race results and reputable automotive press wherever available. References marked secondary are encyclopedic or enthusiast sources used only where a primary figure was not available. Market medians are CarWhere's own analysis of live US dealer listings from licensed vehicle-data providers.
- After Seven Decades, Toyota's Legendary Land Cruiser Keeps Rolling Along — Toyota USA Newsroom (pressroom.toyota.com)
- Toyota Land Cruiser Defines and Refines 65 Years of Brand Heritage — Toyota USA Newsroom (pressroom.toyota.com)
- 2024 Toyota Land Cruiser Returns to its Origin — Toyota USA Newsroom (pressroom.toyota.com)
- Land Cruiser Special Website: History — Toyota Motor Corporation (global.toyota)
- Part 1, Ch. 2, Sec. 8, Item 2: Development of four-wheel-drive vehicles such as the Land Cruiser — 75 Years of Toyota (Toyota Motor Corporation)
- Land Cruiser by the Numbers — Toyota Motor Corporation (global.toyota)
- The Evolution of a Legend: The All-New 2024 Land Cruiser — Toyota USA Newsroom (pressroom.toyota.com)
- 49 CFR Part 565 — Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) requirements — eCFR (U.S. Government)
Independent reference compiled by CarWhere Research — not affiliated with or endorsed by Toyota Motor Corporation or Toyota Motor North America. Toyota, TRD, GR, Land Cruiser, Prius and the model names are trademarks of their owners.